Universitas Gadjah Mada, Yogyakarta, Indonesia

Universitas Gadjah Mada was born out of revolutionary struggle for independence of the Indonesian nation. Founded in the early period of independence, UGM was declared as the scientific and cultural centre for national higher education administration.

Established by the name of “Universitas Gadjah Mada”, this university is the amalgamation of several higher education institutions that had been established previously, including Gadjah Mada Higher Education Centre, Engineering College, and Politics Academy in Yogyakarta, Lawyers Education Centre in Solo, and Pre-clinical Unit of Medical University in Klaten, all endorsed by Government Regulation No 23. Year 1949 regarding Regulations on Amalgamation of Higher Education Institutions into University. Although the date of establishment stated in the Government Regulation was actually 16 December 1949, UGM anniversary date was marked on 19 December due to the historical events of Indonesia taking place on that day.

The name of Gadjah Mada also had a special meaning, containing the spirit and good example of Prime Minister Gadjah Mada of the Majapahit Empire that was able to unify the Nusantara archipelago. This was interpreted into the formulation of identity of UGM as a national university, spirit of existence of the Republic of Indonesia, university of Pancasila, university of the people, and centre of culture university. In the initial period of establishment, UGM had 6 faculties, namely Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Letters and Philosophy, Faculty of Agriculture, and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. The early lectures were conducted in the Sitihinggil and Pagelaran compounds, employing rooms and facilities of the Kraton Palace in Yogyakarta. In 1951 physical construction of the Bulaksumur campus began and, entering the decade of 1960s, UGM already had facilities such as hospital, radio transmitter, and other facilities that supported student learning in addition to serving society’s interests. Now UGM has 18 faculties, one graduate school, one vocational school, and tens of study programmes.

Faculty of Geography

The Faculty of Geography is an integral part of Universitas Gadjah Mada, Yogyakarta, Indonesia which is dedicated to excellence in student learning. Our vision is to become a center of excellence in geography with international standard. We try to provide our students with the best geographic education possible and involve them in many research activities, nationally as well as internationally. It is
in line with the university’s spirit, which is to become a World Class Research University. To address the internationalization of higher education, the Faculty of Geography has established partnership with not less than 27 institutions from 20 countries. We promote international cooperation through exchange of students and/or professors, joint research and education programs.

To promote environmental awareness, we have started an environmentally friendly “Go Green Campaign” on campus. We continuously encourage our students to implement various environmentally friendly practices. We have also established the Center for Environment and Disaster Mitigation which tries to fulfill the need for innovative solutions to disaster mitigation and environmental problems.
Our commitment for best academic practices has been proven by the attainment of the ISO 9001: 2008 quality management certification in 2010.


Research Projects in Natural Resources Management


BSc, MSc and Doctoral Programs relevant to CNRD


Activities in capacity development relevant to CNRD


Pool of Experts

Soil Science Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Junun Sartohadi, M.Sc.
Geomorphology Dr.rer.nat. Djati Mardiatno, M.Si.
Geomorphology Dr. Danang Sri Hadmoko, M.Sc.
Regional Geography Prof. Dr. M. Baiquni, M.A.
GIS/Remote Sensing Drs. Projo Danoedoro, M.Sc., Ph.D.
GIS/Remote Sensing Dr. Sigit Heru Murti B.S., M.Si.
Regional Development Dr. Estuning Tyas Wulan Mei
Meteorology/Climatology Utia Suarma, M.Sc.
GIS/Remote Sensing Dr. Nur Mohammad Farda, S.Si., M.Cs.
Geomorphology Dr.rer.nat. M. Anggri S., M.Sc.
Food and Nutrition Security Dr. Evita Hanie Pangaribowo, SE., Midec.
Rural Geography Prof. Dr. R. Rijanta, M.Sc.
Demography Dr. Sukamdi, M.Sc.
Karst/Speleology Dr. Eko Haryono, M.Si.
Geomorphology/Landslide Dr. Eng. Guruh Samodra, M.Sc.
Urban Geography Dr. Rini Rachmawati, S.Si., M.T
Remote Sensing/Benthic Habitat Dr. Pramaditya Wicaksono, M.Sc.
Agriculture Geography Dr. Rika Harini, M.P .

Project Coordination

Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Muh Aris Marfai, S.Si., M.Sc.

Dean of the Faculty of Geography


Phone: +62-274-6492340

Dr. Dyah Rahmawati Hizbaron, S.Si., M.T., M.Sc.

Vice Dean for Research, Community Service and Cooperation


Phone: +62-274-6492340