Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt

Ain Shams University was established in 1950. It is the third oldest university in Egypt after Cairo University and Alexandria University. The university includes 15 faculties and two high institutes. It includes more than 180,000 students, 5,000 staff members, 4,000 assistant staff, and more than 100 centers and special units.

The Faculty of Engineering at Ain Shams University has approximately 14,000 students in both undergraduate and postgraduate study programs. The Faculty of Engineering offers a number of degrees, including B.Sc., diplomas, M.Sc., M.Eng., and Ph.D. in four discipline clusters: civil, architectural, electrical, and mechanical engineering. The university is transforming its university-wide pedagogy towards active learning at every level, i.e., encouraging students to take active efforts to discover their subject. They will learn how to learn, which will be an essential tool after they graduate, allowing them to continue lifelong learning on their own. The Faculty of Engineering at Ain Shams University boasts a large number of cooperations with partners around the world, which enable the exchange of students and faculty members, joint research, double-degrees, etc. All professional degree programs are recognized and highly valued by their respective professional associations. The faculty has been accredited by the National Authority for Quality Assurance and Accreditation of Education (NAQAAE) since 2014. The academic programs follow the National Academic Reference Standards (NARS). Undergraduate students take a compulsory community services learning module. Most graduate programs are connected with industry practices and real fields of specialization. The aim is to create a practical learning environment. The Faculty of Engineering at Ain Shams University has to adopt a leadership position and be a role model for global changes in the labor market.

Ain Shams University, Faculty of Engineering

Ain Shams University, Faculty of Engineering

Project Coordination

Dr. Marwa Khalifa

Dr. Aly El Bahrawy